Notes on Rig Build

Suspendulum rig is nine 8 ft (2.5m) steel tubes in three foot assemblies.
Each foot assembly is 24 ft (~ 7.5m) long.
NeoPixel Digital RGB LED Strip – White 30 LED have 30 digitally-addressable pixel LEDs per meter. The voltage drop starts to decrease the color after about 1 m, so I will need to deliver the power in branches. Each foot gets 1 x 5V 10 A Switching Power Supply.  There will be 6 strips of 1m per leg (2/steel tube), so each power supply has to power 180 pixels and this project has 540 LEDs total. A little more than what could be run on an Arduino Uno, but I’ll be using the megaA 1000 microFarad capacitor  and 200 ohm resistor will protect the LEDstrips.

Rig

All of the ground pins among the strips connected in common, but the +5V from each power supply will be connected to a single length of NeoPixels (to prevent back-feeding).The Neopixels need a 1000 micro-Farad capacitor and a resistor for each power supply. Whoops, turns out I also need this logic level shifter because Gemma is 3.3V.

Likely power draw: 180 NeoPixels × 20 mA ÷ 1,000 = 3.6 Amps minimum
Max possible power draw (all LEDs white): 180 NeoPixels × 60 mA ÷ 1,000 = 10.8 Amps minimum.
I can probably limit this in the software, make sure it always draws < 10 A.

glamour

Gemma microcontroller is adhesively fixed to a magnetic pin back, which will keep it affixed to one of the rig feet when in use. Below I have a picture of the microcontroller magnetically clipped on a scarf.

Screen Shot 2016-03-25 at 1.17.56 AM.png

I plan to print Gemma an enclosure. It has a Attiny85 processor which will be programmed by the aforementioned Arduino mega (IDE set up). Gemma is not compatible with Linux by the way, but fortunately I have a Mac I can use. I will need to do any debugging using the flora, since there is no serial communication from gemma to the computer.  It has 3 I/O pins. It will be connected to a mic sensor (which has been out of stock 😦 ) as depicted below.

gemma_drums-circuit-layout

This and this is what I need to read tomorrow. The more complicated I want my sound reactions, it may come to the point that I’ll have to read this.

I’m planning on using self gripping velcro ties to attach the LED strips to the rig. This step would be done during set up. Each pole gets two strips.

ladymoon

Leave a Reply

